Login | Register

Message Board | Latest Posts | Your Recent Posts | Rules

Thread: Sindarin Linguistic Fellowship

Is this discussion interesting? Share it on Twitter!

Bottom of Page    Message Board > The Forsaken Inn > Sindarin Linguistic Fellowship   
hi all!

i am just starting out to teach myself Sindarin (i am goin to learn from the .PDF called Pedin Edhellen cant remember the site off hand, but a quick google search should sort it out for you)
anyway, i was wondering if theres anyone who would like to learn alongside me, maybe do one chapter per week, then discuss as we go, and maybe if there is someone online who already CAN speak/write sindarin, they could ask question and what not.

what do you all think?
hey that's rockin. i'm trying to learn (note trying haha) Quenya, but it is SO HARD!!! so is Sindarin the kind you speak or write? my brain blanked out on that part. Juggling Smilie WOW that's amazing! oh, and i'd be willing to learn with you! sweet.
Ah, you mean Parma Tyelpelassiva, Thorsten's site? Anyway, I'm glad other linguistic-minded people are showing up on Planet-Tolkien; I was feeling a bit bored here. If you have any questions on Sindarin or Quenya I'd be glad to help, and if there's a question about the course I can try to help (or I could ask Thorsten if it's a technical matter).
ok then how about as of next week (i say next week, so that maybe we can get more people in on this) we begin with sindarin (as that is the 'living vanacular' of elves in the 3rd age of ME) and we'll begin with chapter one?

the course i use came from ~
http://www.phy.duke.edu/~trenk/elvish/index.html

and is entitled Pedin Edhellin (about a half way down the page)

i also use the quite simply fantastic (IMO) Hisweloke "dragon flame" online dictionary, found here ~
http://www.jrrvf.com/hisweloke/sindar/df20.html

its pretty self explanatary to install, so shouldnt cause too many problems

Big Smile Smilie

oh and Tyrhael