Login | Register

Message Board | Latest Posts | Your Recent Posts | Rules

Thread: Colors of races

Is this discussion interesting? Share it on Twitter!

Bottom of Page    Message Board > General Discussion > Colors of races   
This may be a bit airy but, being an artist, I was wondering about what colors you would say represents the races of Tolkien's world. Here's one. (add on for other races or diffferent colors if you wish.)

Elves: green for the intellect and love of nature

Arwen Happy Elf Smilie

Ainur : white for their angelic nature.

Men : grey because only Eru really knows what's going on with them.

Dwarves : brown because they were made out of earth.

Ents : green because of what they wear on their head : leaves.

Dragons : red because of the thing they use to start barbecues.

Eagles : blue = the colour of the sky.

Orcs : black because they don't really like the light.

Elves : pink because they like dancing, singing, poems and what not so much.
Pink!?
I would say elves are either a leaf green or a deep aqua (green for nature, aqua for sorrow) and ents are a mossier green. Dwarves are brown, orcs, goblins and such are black, eagles are gold... I'll give you the rest of the races when I have some time to think harder...
Something I've noted before that I've gotten from Tolkien is an appreciation for the color grey. We don't think much of it now with the availability of an amazing array of pigments available, even when limited to just permanent artist colors, but he often articulates an appreciation of gray in the bark of the mallorn, the luminous mists of the sea, grey eyes (ones we are more likely to call blue) the grey-clad elves of Lorien. I don't think I would so much have noticed what a luminous silver is simple weathered wood but for Tolkien pulling my awareness of it up to consciousness. Likewise the bark of young maples and of beeches. I see the mallorns like beeches.

Anyway, I'm an artist, too, and I like the question.