Login | Register

Message Board | Latest Posts | Your Recent Posts | Rules

Thread: Real Life in Middle Earth

Is this discussion interesting? Share it on Twitter!

Bottom of Page    Message Board > General Discussion > Real Life in Middle Earth   
I'm an artist and am currently working in miniature a little larger than dollhouse scale. I hope to do a scene or two relating to Middle Earth but this has led me to think about what everyday life in Middle Earth might have been like.

In the Hobbit when the twelve dwarves are having tea with Bilbo he is asked to fetch a lamp. I presume this was probably an oil lamp but do you think it would it have been made of glass or iron? Bilbo packs the dwarves into barrels so we know barrels existed but what else was there in the way of practical items? Was life comparabe to life in what we call the Middle Ages or the 1700s or...? If I recreated Bilbo's garden would he have had a pump or a well or have hauled water from the river? Tolkien talks a lot about the craftsmanship of the dwarves and the elves but mostly in relationship to the forging of weapons and jewelry. I don't want to rely completely on the movies for this information even though I really liked just looking at what Jackson thought Middle earth was like. Does any one else have thoughts on this?
I figure most hobbit homes would get water from a garden well, except those in a village that would have a well in the center of the village square. Homes of the well to do might have an indoor pump in the kitchen; I doubt if any had running water. Probably all of them had outhouses for bodily waste; though I'm not sure how that would have worked at bag end. Maybe instead they collected night-earth which was used for fertilizer in their luscious gardens. And as they didn't have the petro-chemical industry to help mutate their germs and viruses, and as had few visitors, they probably had a built-up imunity that let them get away with this.