Login | Register

Message Board | Latest Posts | Your Recent Posts | Rules

Thread: Concerning Maeglin

Is this discussion interesting? Share it on Twitter!

Bottom of Page    Message Board > Characters > Concerning Maeglin   << [1] [2]
Isn't Mir's profession quite obvious? He's a professional Tolkien Analyser... but after reading these posts I've changed my mind. He's one of those old literature professors...
No, i'm an engineer. Tolkien is just a hobby.
The duel

"Is the Man ready?" Maeglin called, using the words of the Elven duel ritual.
Tuor chose to answer him in his kin’s way: "May thy knife chip and shatter!" He pointed to the blade he had thrown on the floor, indicating that the Elf should advance and take it.

Keeping his attention on Tuor, Maeglin picked up the knife, balancing it a moment in his hand to get the feel of it. Excitement kindled in him. This was the fight against his rival he had dreamed about -- man against man, skill against skill with no one intervening. He could see a way to power opening before him because King Turgon surely would reward whoever killed this troublesome Man. The reward might even be his haughty daughter and a share of the throne. And this yokel duke, this human adventurer could not possibly be a match for a Noldo prince trained in every device and every treachery by a thousand arena combats. And the yokel had no way of knowing he faced more weapons than a knife here.

‘Let us see if you're proof against poison!’ Maeglin thought. He saluted Tuor with his blade, said: "Meet your death, fool."
"Shall we fight, Elf?" Tuor asked. And he cat-footed forward, eyes on the waiting blade, his body crouched low with his own milk-white mithril knife pointing out as though an extension of his arm.
They circled each other, bare feet grating on the floor, watching with eyes intent for the slightest opening.
"How beautifully you dance," Maeglin said.
He's a talker, Tuor thought. There's a weakness. He grows uneasy in the face of silence.