Login | Register

Message Board | Latest Posts | Your Recent Posts | Rules

Thread: The Elves

Is this discussion interesting? Share it on Twitter!

Bottom of Page    Message Board > The Hobbit (Movie) > The Elves   << [1] [2] [3] [4]
Yes Glorfindel that's true regarding the title Queen. However your missing the point or at least don't regard the power that Galadriel held both in her ring and bought with her from Valinor and from Melian, who she spent many years with in Menegroth. Her people were taught gifts of Light, knowledge and power which had disappeared from ME with the destruction of her powerful Noldor relatives over the previous Age.

Yes Thranduils people came from the same houses as most of those of Lorien, however they had become estranged from those of Lorien. They had no teachers from the Light Elves, their knowledge came from self taught Earth bases and had had no knowledge of the Powers of the West other than the Rumer of them. They chose to not get involved in the worries of the world after the troubles with Melkor in Ages past.

It's for this reason possibly that the greeting between Legolas and The Lord and Lady of Lorien was as of family long parted. And that we will see a quiet big difference between them in the films.

In The Lord of the Rings Gimli refers to Galadriel as 'Queen Galadriel', and she is again referred to as a Queen in Of The Rings Of Power And The Third Age.

Of course Tolkien wrote elsewhere that Galadriel took no title of Queen (Unfinished Tales) and in his response to the Zimmerman film treatment (in a letter), he noted that she was not a Queen.