Child's book

swampfaye

Child's book

Post#1 » Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Justifiably so, IMO, Tomi. This classification is Tolkiens own fault, though for calling it a "childrens book" because he didn't want to be embarassed by his peers (bunch of stuffed shirts that they were).

I frankly don't think you should call the style of the Hobbit "Childlike." LOTR is extremely hard to get through even for most adults. As a writer, I can tell you that clear and concise writing like in "the HObbit" is a gift. Tolkien lost many readers when he graduated to a more difficult style of writing. Just like Sam, the simple gardener, was invaluable to the quest of the ring, simplicity is often invaluable to writing. I still enjoy the HObbit, which is not writen in the vein of "Harry Potter" which is specifically targeted to children. Tolkien never intended it to be a "childrens book".

Ungoliant

Child's book

Post#2 » Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Er..but he did. He wrote it for his children. Hence the simple style of writing. A bit like the 'Wind in the Willows', written by K. Graeme for his kids when they were down with measles or chicken pox or whatever.

But does it matter if they classify it as a children's book? It's still fun - they could define it as a book for fetuses if they like, but I'd still like it.

Eryan

Child's book

Post#3 » Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Oh I love this remark about a "book for foetuses"!
:D :D :D (Is this the right icon for loud hearty laugh??? If no - sorry for being
stupid!!)
Actually, Hobbit holes such as Bag End are so very similar to homes of animals from
"Wind in the Willows" - I love that book, too. It is also a "child book" but some of
its passages are pure poetry...
Do you remember Mole and Water Rat having a walk on a winter evening and
looking through a window at a sleepy bird in cage?

grondmaster

Child's book

Post#4 » Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am