The Hobbit Discussion Group

User avatar
rednell
Posts: 1798

The Hobbit Discussion Group

Post#1 » Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:51 pm

We are planning to start up a reading discussion group in bilbos-study for The Hobbit.
This thread is to determine if there is enough interest to go ahead with the chatroom discussion. I am only available Sunday afternoon/evening.

Post here if you are interested and available Sundays either weekly or bi-weekly.

User avatar
laurelome
Posts: 313

The Hobbit Discussion Group

Post#2 » Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:15 pm

Saturday nights?????

User avatar
floyd_n_milan
Posts: 551

The Hobbit Discussion Group

Post#3 » Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:27 pm

Finally! Just tell me the time.

User avatar
Vee
Posts: 2711

The Hobbit Discussion Group

Post#4 » Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:59 pm

00.59 here.

:wiggle:

User avatar
grondmaster
Posts: 25451

The Hobbit Discussion Group

Post#5 » Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:30 pm

Well we have the same problem we always run into: Starting Sundays at 7:00 PM GMT is 8:00 AM Monday in Wellington; 6:00 AM Monday in Melbourne; 12:30 AM Monday in New Delhi; 10:00PM in Moscow; 8:00 PM in Rome; 7:00 PM London; 3:00 PM in Halifax; 2:00 PM in New York; 1:00 PM in Chicago; Noon in Denver; and 11:00 AM in San Francisco.

This is still probably the best time to get the majority of members involved, but it does leave the Japanese still abed Monday morning.

You can play around with these times at The World Clock Meeting Planner.
'Share and enjoy'

User avatar
rednell
Posts: 1798

The Hobbit Discussion Group

Post#6 » Mon Feb 27, 2006 8:15 pm

Unfortunately, I work every Saturday so it wouldn't really be possible for me to get online at a reasonable time for those on the UK side of the world.
So, I am hoping Sunday will work out for most people.
My days off are Sunday and Monday.

User avatar
laurelome
Posts: 313

The Hobbit Discussion Group

Post#7 » Mon Feb 27, 2006 9:03 pm

So, I am a little confused by time zones and everything. It would appear that ten o'clock here is about three o'clock there... that would put me.....where at the time you are talking about????

User avatar
virumor
Posts: 3567

The Hobbit Discussion Group

Post#8 » Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:31 am

Saturdays night are made for painting the town red, anyway. Sunday nights are made for sobering up, and as JRRT's dry material is ideal for this, I'll probably join for it after all.
Give up the Halfring, she-elf...

User avatar
Loss
Posts: 3691

The Hobbit Discussion Group

Post#9 » Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:55 am

I'd love to join, im usually available on the weekend not everyone though? Would there be something to show us what happened if we missed one?

User avatar
Amarië
Posts: 2785

The Hobbit Discussion Group

Post#10 » Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:02 am

We have usually posted a copy of the chat room log, so anyone who misses it can see what the others talked about. And maybe continue the discussion in the forum.
"Don't complain under the stars
about the lack of bright spots in you life."
Henrik Wergeland, Norwegian writer

Return to “Reading Discussion Groups”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests