Re-Introduce yourself.

New to Post a introduction here and let our members welcome you!

Re-Introduce yourself.

Post#1 » Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:06 pm

A quick plea, it must be strange to see us here and it's strange for us to be in a new environment.

Once upon a time we all joined a forum somewhere and said hi. We all shared a little about ourselves so others might get a sense of who we are, As we try to merge our communities it might be nice to share again.

I know I did a bit in the THM saying Hi thread, but I'll recap here too! Tolkien fan since the age of 10 I regularly reread the books, which have spolit me for fantasy. Love Narnia, HP and Pratchett too!

Other authors i frequently return to are Aldiss, Peter F Hamilton, Bernard Cornwell and Jane Austen

I enjoyed the LOTR films and still do, although in discussion with others I am increasingly 'Purist' in my opinions.

So how about you?

Re-Introduce yourself.

Post#2 » Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:21 pm

I'm a college student, I live in Maryland in the U.S.  I read Tolkien for the when I was about nine around though I didn't see the films until several years after they came out.  I'm a purist but I'm not one of the people who thinks every little thing should have been included (on most forums I've been to very few if any people say that) or who hate the films - I love them, I just think they have some significant flaws.

Along with Tolkien my childhood classics were Harry Potter and Star Wars.  More recently I've gotten into other fantasy works in different genres, including A Song of Ice and Fire and Avatar: The Last Airbender.  I also watch anime, some of which (most notably Fullmetal Alchemist) can be classified as fantasy. :D

It's nice to meet all of you, and I'd like to give a big thank you to everyone I've talked to in different threads and through the chat - you've all been very friendly and welcoming. :)

Re-Introduce yourself.

Post#3 » Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:51 pm

Hi, again, Kafria and Eldoiran.