Goldberry

Jehanne

Goldberry

Post#1 » Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Hey, Eldar, welcome! :)

Nope, she's not an elf. She (like Tom) might be one of the Maiar, but that's not really clear. She seems to be some sort of water-spirit, like her mother (since she's called the "River-daughter"). I always pictured her like a classical water nymph, like Daphne only without the whole tree thing. Goldberry's origins are pretty mysterious though (not unlike Tom's really. Fun couple).

Eldar

Goldberry

Post#2 » Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

so where can I find out about some of Gold Berry's History and is the Maiar the chidren of the Valar??? sorry guys Im new to Tolkeins world!!!!!!!

But youve got to learn somewhere!!!

Allyssa

Goldberry

Post#3 » Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Hello again Eldar. We met in the chat room remember?

The Maiar are "lesser spirits", but not physically children of the Valar. It is popularly believed that Gandalf and the Istari were lesser Maiar. Kinda explains a lot doesn't it? The Maiar were able to take a physical form or body if they wished. Melian the queen of Doriath was another Maiar who inhabbited Middle Earth.
"May the Angels Guide"

Ungoliant

Goldberry

Post#4 » Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Some also believe that Tom & Goldberry were Valar. i.e. Tom = Aule, Goldberry = Yavanna.

Eldar

Goldberry

Post#5 » Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Does Goldberry appear anywhere else in Tolkiens books???

grondmaster

Goldberry

Post#6 » Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Welcome to the forum Eldar.

Yes, Goldberry appears in Tolkiens poem, 'The Adventures of Tom Bombadil' which can be found in 'The Tolkien Reader' which is now out of print. I have a ninth printing: May 1970 of Ballantine Books, Inc. paperback, for which I paid 95 cents US when it was new. Its pages are now quite yellowed, but holding to their binding.

I posted a snippet of this poem on 5/2/2002 at 03:50 under 'General Discussion' and 'Trivia: Barad-dur'.
'Share and enjoy'

Allyssa

Goldberry